Why can't I get any Python Scripts to run on Blender 2.4???

Everything I try to run gives me an error. I’m new to running scripts though so it could be something that I just don’t know to do.

Do you have Python 2.4 installed? If you do then we would need to see the Error message from the Console.

(Re. Explode.py; jms’s site is still down and I’ve contacted him about it).

%<

Do you think that script (explode) would work on the older version of Blender? and if so, is there a way that I could have both versions and choose which one I wanted to run? (windows xp)

Everything I try to run gives me an error.

Whatever you do, DO NOT look at the console for error messages and DO NOT tell us what they say.

Yes, it may be dependant on Python 2.3.x (Blender 2.28 to 2.36), and as stiv said, whatever you do don’t look at that console!

%<

Okay, my fault, here are my exact steps and the exact error message:

1. open blender and kill the default mesh
  2. add a uv sphere and switch to object mode
  3. change one window to the text editor and open “scriptlink.py”
  4. With the uv sphere selected (pink) I hit alt p in text widow and I get an error that says check the console.
    The console says:

"IndexError: list index out of range
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “explode3.py”, line 99, in ?

(it says this like a million times)
<then>

IndexError: list index out of range
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender.blender\scripts\scriptlink.py”, line 9 in ?
MESH3d.addScriptLink(NAME,EVENT)
AttributeError: no such Blender Text

Here is the script for the “Scriptlink.py”:
import Blender
EVENT=‘FrameChanged’
NAME=‘explode4.py’
MESH3D = Blender.Object.GetSelected()[0]
scriptlink=MESH3D.getScriptLinks(EVENT)
if scriptlink and NAME in scriptlink:
pass
else:
MESH3D.addScriptLink(NAME,EVENT)
Blender.Redraw()