Why do Blender have inbuild file browser?

I show’d Blender to my professional friend, who is working as web software developer and when he got his hands on Blender he was for while impressed, but then after for while he seemed little confused and said: “Why on earth do this program need to have it’s own file browser?”

I started figuring it out and actually I could not give him any satisfying answer to this question. Okay, I’m not Blender developer and my knowledge of developing is limited, but I have some experience on working with blender as an artist and I found it very boring that I got confused so easily from someone who has no experience at all.

I also tried to google some videos of other 3d-software and actually it seems that Blender is the only one software that I could find that has it’s own code used to search and open files. Could someone explain me the benefits. Thank you! :slight_smile:

Can all OS file browsers filter for different types of media
Can all OS file browsers preview blend files

When appending/linking you need a type of file browser with functionality built into no other OS (look inside a .blend file)

I also tried to google some videos of other 3d-software and actually it seems that Blender is the only one software that I could find that has it’s own code used to search and open files.
Search harder. Maya on OSX for example does not use Finder but it’s own custom file browser

Solidworks also have it’s own dialog for normal open/save operations, although it might use OS one for certain tasks.
Benefits? I guess custom content, mode of operations, and filters?

Okay, it might be just apple problem then? I think Windows has quite powerful browser to find files and open them. Little ago it could’ve also show thumbnails of blend files, but that feature is lost somewhere or I don’t know how to turn it back on to windows 10.