Why is florecent type light source not one of the defaults?

A question which has accrued to me that seams like a no brainier. In blender we are given 5 specific types of lamps, but one of the most common and widely used types of lamps seams to be ignored by just about every renderer out there, the lap type for the Florescent light or other similar type light emitting lamps. Instead you have to fiddle with renders and materials and find workaround to accomplish the effect. Why wasn’t this lamp type not included with the lamp sets. Seams like a major oversight to me. he type of light source is everywhere in the real world and used frequently in everything. I have a florescent light bar in my garage right behind my desk. It just boggles my mind that its not available to me as a lamp type.

I am a noob and trying to hunt through the internet to find a work around that works for my situation is a major headache and prone to multiple instances of failure which just adds a major level of frustration to a project and completely stalles the creative process.

you have IES lamps now
so find yourself a Neon fixture with the proper IES curves
then you can use IES lamp in blender to get real light from a fluo

happy cl

The differences between the standard CG light types are a bit more fundamental than that. You have point/sphere sources, (point lights) point/sphere sources with a limited angle (spot lights), lights with parallel rays at an infinite distance (sun/distant lights), and local lights with a finite area (area lights). There’s also infinite lights from all directions(skydome) but in Blender that is from the world panel rather than being a “skydome” lamp object. It’s a skydome-lamp in some other software though, but I digress.