Why is most entertainment bad nowadays?

A thing I really don’t get nowadays is all the praise Puss in Boots: The Last Wish is getting. I find it funny that an installment in the Shrek franchise, which most people only watch for the adult jokes, toilet humor, and pop culture references, is actually getting so much praise. Those movies are incredibly overrated, and that it saddens me that most people don’t seem to be intelligent enough to appreciate art.

I feel the same way with the latest Marvel Cinematic Universe films. I only really enjoyed No Way Home, and that was because I wanted to know what was going to happen to the Tom Holland Peter Parker after the end of Far From Home. It’s all about the jokes, fanservice, and representation now.

Those things hurt me because I am an aspiring author that wants to tell a good story, but the fact that people accept mediocrity so much makes me feel hopeless.

1 Like

…too much of the same… repetitive … and the worst, the mix-in of politics.
I have a hard time finding a movie from which I can not predict the rest of the story after the first minute dropped.

5 Likes

Some questions to consider:
What is “art”?
What qualifies you to define “art”, but not the filmmakers you’re critiquing?
What makes your definition of “art” superior to their definition?
If, based on that last question, definitions of art can be ranked by superiority, then what is the ultimate definition of art?

Who gets to decide the ultimate definition of art? What qualifies them?
If there’s no singular superior definition of art… (hint: there isn’t), is it possible that art is entirely subjective, and no personal definition of art is superior to any other?

You say “no one is intelligent enough to appreciate art”- this clearly implies that you see yourself as more intelligent than everyone else. What qualifies you as more intelligent than everyone else?