Why poor graphics?

Okay this may sound rude and I’m sorry if I’m offending anyone, but, Alot of great BGE Game have been released but have Very poor graphics. Why is that? Is it because BGE simply can’t handle High graphics or is it because not enough people try to make them look good? I’m not saying that they NEED good graphics to be good or fun, I’m just curious because I wanted to make a game myself sometime soon :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve been using Blender for around 7 years now, and just recently started using BGE as well, Actually that’s why I started using blender, to make games, but back then the game engine was really really bad… But I started again 3 weeks ago and achieved results like this:

This runs perfectly fine, 60 FPS with:

• GLSL Shading
  • Variance shadows
  • Multiple textures and Normal maps
  • realtime SSAO( Ambient occlusion ) Only pre-baked on the models.
  • SSAA ( Anti aliasing )

But of course this is far from a complete game, this is the only 5 objects in the scene…

Why?
Because no-one has put in the effort.

Most completed games are made by programmers, not by artists, and thus have the programmers idea of good models.
(For some bizarre reason, programmers often seem to have PC’s that can’t handle the graphics either)

Artists rarely complete games, and so only team projects have a hope of good graphics. Unfortunately they also rarely come through, and I can’t think of any completed team games (with the exception of the perpetual WIP Krum)

I think some people limit there graphics because they have thousands of objects in a scene or a big map,
Some people are obsessed with Frames per second,
Also I think I can have terrible graphics, and a working game, I can replace models, not behavior,

also some people have never even messed with GSL… not that GSL is not amazing…