why start with a box?

I’m trying to understand why using a box is the best way to create a model. Obviously I’m a newbie. If i want to make a shark, why wouldn’t I start with a cone or sphere…why a cube? No, I haven’t completed a model, but I will continue to try.

A cone and a sphere would both be terrible places to start a model because they both terminate in a multi-pole, which would cause you to start with poor topology. Starting with a cube allows you the best control over the future topology of your model, and gives you 6 well-defined directions to expand into. Subdivisions on it are very predictable as well.

^ what m9105826 said.

However, if you like to customize your “Default File” you can edit it and then click “File > Save User Settings”
Thats the way I do it :slight_smile:

Why would you change your default? Do you subdivide it and add mirrors, then save as default?

I start most organic models with a sphere or cylinder. The starting point doesn’t matter at all, could be a single vert. Heads are usually best modeled one face at a time(poly by poly). Add a plane, cut it in half, delete the left side, add your mirror, and start extruding.

A cube is an obvious starting point for a lot of inorganic models, but a circle is probably my most used primitive in that department. Shift-Alt-S is your friend. :slight_smile:

Moved from “General Forums > Blender and CG Discussions” to “Support > Modeling”

Possibly. You can actually save everything you change, for example the GUI layout, if you dont like the default one. I have deleted the cube by default, so I can simply add what I need directly, when starting something new

I have studio one layer for def. And some color changes :stuck_out_tongue: but generaly on first layer top view i have cube

@RedHawk
Box modeling is the easiest type and the learning curve is less then others. If you don’t like it, you can change it at will.