Wich Linux for Blender?

Hello guys!

I’m now starting to work in 3-D, but i am yet to decide wich might be the best platform to use blender.

I thought of preparing a PC with Linux, so that it could work as a Blender Workstation, but i have tried Mandrake and it doesn’t run.
I am new to LInux, as i am to Blender, might just be me that can’t get the thing running, but i wanted to put windows aside, because i get easily stressed with it!

To all of you who use LInux with Blender, maybe you could give me some advices on the best distribution to use with Blender, as with everything that need to be installed so that it can be run on Linux.

Blender works with all linux distro’s as far as i kmow. You might be better of stating what the exact problem was that you had, and someone might be able to help. I run Slackware btw :stuck_out_tongue:

Hello
and welcome to the Blender/Linux community :slight_smile:

To me ( and some thousands others) Mandrake is the easiest dristibution to install
and Blender works perfectly well with it

BUT…(rewelcome to the Linux world) it’s rarely “out of the box”
It needs some tweaking probably…mainly because hardware vendors don’t make Linux drivers @–%

Anyway, to me with with a AMD XP 2200-MSIKT4AV-GeforceTi4200-HP Scanner-SAnsungCDWR it was “out of the box”
Only need to reinstall (easy) the NVidia drivers to get OpenGl acceleration

Bye

I’m running Debian with the nVidia OpenGL driver. Blender works great.

what I have noticed is that it is harder to get blender to work under linux than windows, since I have encountered glibc version conflicts which required blender to be build from source.

However I would say that the biggest thing would be to get OpenGL working with out having to fuss around with compiling the nVidia kernel interface. I use fedora core 1 because the nvidia installer already has one compiled however depending on your hardware this may not apply to you.

simon

OK, I’ll try again