Will UPBGE get more stable?

I just modeled and rigged my own cockatoo bird in UPBGE 0.3. The modelling and making of the skeleton went without a hitch and so did vertex paint assigning, but when it came to the parenting of the bones (crest, beak, wings, etc) and selecting them all individually to parent, oh my gosh, the crashing was immense! It just crashed nonstop, and I had to recover the file again and again. Eventually, I got all the bones correctly parented, but this nonstop crashing really infuriates me at times. I do have a question - when is UPBGE going to get more stable? I know time will make UPBGE more stable in releases, but 0.3 is crash-happy in circumstances with a lot of bones, etc. I am no programmer or developer, but UPBGE seems to have a lot of trouble handling bones all right. My Mac does not cause any issues, and Rosetta emulation has nothing to do with it, this seems to be bad lines of code that need to be ironed out, like with the iPhone 1 in 2007. I look forward to later more stable versions of UPBGE. The slowdown seen in rigs when played also seems to be from bad lines of code too…

I am sorry if this turned into a little rant, I tried to keep this as civil and as rule-abiding as possible. I feel frustrated, and I just want a more stable version of the program. I love Blender and UPBGE and would love to see them get more stable as time goes by. There is a saying that time heals everything.

1 Like

UPBGE is not maintained, developed, nor funded by the Blender Foundation, so it’s unlikely that a stable version will exist on par with something like Unreal Engine or even Godot. Open source projects of this scale tend to stumble without foundational backing and a significant developer workforce - UPBGE has neither, being both community funded and developed

1 Like

We have a stable release, 3.0, and alpha builds,

We don’t change any blender code…

We are a layer added on top of blender,

Frankly this post should be a bug report if there is one.