windows xp memory usage

hi

i friend has a amd laptop from averatec with 480 mb of ram.
the problem is that when i let windows boot it uses up
190 mb of ram while it only uses around 70 mb in safe mode.

well as you can read i am not a windows expert. i just saw the
difference from around 120 mb of ram which is in my opinion
quite some amount.

i checked few websites to opt. the memory usage like with
setting cashing settings, fast user switch, etc. without any
significant help.

i also cleaned up her font folder with around 4000 font files.

now i can run photshop cs and firefox at the same time but when
i open two jp files the pc reaches already 510 mb of ram.

anybody has a good suggestion how i could lower the memory
usage or is it normal that xp uses up nearly 200 mb?

claas

That’s pretty much normal for windows. It’s crazy that computers are still made with only 256MB of RAM when windows XP requires that much to run.

If you go to http://www.dead-eye.net/, click on Windows XP in the left frame, and then WinXP services in the right frame, you’ll see a list of processes, their functions, and if they’re necessary or not. I went through this and disabled a lot of useless features, some of which cause some pretty significant security risks also. It should free up at least a small amount of memory on the computer.

-Anthony

200MB is way too much for me. You probably have a bunch of useless processes being started up when your friend turns on her computer. Just go to the Start menu, then type “msconfig” (without the quotes), and a program will start up. Go to the “Startup” tab and disable all the processes that you don’t absolutely need. (Make sure you reboot after this). That should free up some memory. XP uses up about 60mb of memory with a fresh install on my laptop. It uses 100MB of memory with all of my apps installed.

EDIT: sorry Veach posted when I was typing do what he said.

hi

i already went to msconfig and disabled nearly 90 without a big memory save.