WIP "Keiko" - Anime styled model

This is my first post on this forum, hi everyone!
This is my WIP model, her name is Keiko

I’d just like some feedback on her hair,
and also I’d like to ask what is the best way to texture it realistically? I’m new to making hair. It is just a mesh at the moment, nothing special.

Any help and feedback is appreciated thank you! :slight_smile:

Heres what I have with the hair so far… but I want it to look more realistic.
Could anyone help?

http://i50.tinypic.com/2wpp99d.png

Hi,
I think particle system gives more realistic effect.

I know but I dont want to use particle hair

particle hair takes too much memory, btw how did u make the hair texture look like that

Yeah thats precisely why i dont want to use it. I am to use this character for a game eventually and particle hair wont work.
The texture? All I did was create a UV map of the hair mesh, then baked a texture map of it, opened that up in photoshop, changed the colours and put on overlay of a hair texture over the top and changed the layer type to Luminosity then saved it over the top of the old one and reloaded the UV image. Pretty simple. I can show you in more detail if that doesn’t make sense.
Thats probably not the ‘best’ way to do it, but it worked well for me.

The model is more realistic than a anime character. To create a anime model, you have to break away from the original topology of the realistic human. The chin isn’t narrow enough, the eyes aren’t big enough, and the nose, most of the time, is there but not realistic and non existent.

Nice set up with the hair by the way. To texture the hair properly, you must import the hair texture as a PNG file.

hello sooshicat, nice char going. :slight_smile:
You can try this method, after UV mapping one hair strand.