WIP Len CMV (Character music Video) anime-style

hey guys,

I finally have something to show for my cmv (character music video) that ive been working on for many months now. This is a few seconds from when I start using 3D models in the animation and is a good example of what i’ve managed to do so far with the anime shader settings, nodal texture animations, Freestyle toonlines and the rigged model. Theres still a few little things i want to finish and fix with the shaders and the eye textures (i’m halfway through having the eye textures controlled by a bone in my rig), but the model and these are at least 85% complete.

Whatcha all think^^
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b379/tsukiko_chan/len-cmvtest4.jpg
(click to be brought to the Youtube video, dont worry, its short)

Some tech details:

• hair highlight done by textures in nodes.
  • face textures done by a complex node system with the textures animated using pynodes.
  • lines done by a simple cartoon Freestyle module. no postprocessing (but i made the option so i can clean them up outside).
  • all done as multiple renderlayers saved as alphamapped image-sequences so i can easily postprocess them if needed, and speeds up rendering times by only rendering the layers and frames i need to.

Yet to do:

• create pynode that lets me move the eyes according to a bone.
  • enhance face shadows using material retouch and external animatable uv maps.
  • Postprocess Freestyle lines when im satified with final animation to take out the extra lines.

Hey that’s a great look you have going on here, can’t wait to see more! Nihongo Wakarimasen!

You know, I think that for something as close to the anime style as this, it might actually make the movie look better to turn down the frame-rate. As it is, really great looking model, and nice job. :slight_smile:

Looks great! What about the blend file?