WIP Nissan 350z High Poly Attempt

Hi,

This is my first attempt at making a high poly car so I don’t know how well it will come out. the modeling time so far has been very minimal (under an hour) but it is coming along :slight_smile: Of course, since I am not an adequate modeler (coming from a programming background, I lack the artistic sense that all of you guys have :no:), the model is not very impressive, but either way, here is what I have so far. The far left is the wireframe mesh without subsurf, middle is wireframe with subsurf, and the right is the solid mesh with subsurf. Critique is welcome :evilgrin: Thanks!

Attachments

so far so good. you make lack the skills but so far that car looks exactly like a modeler made it… :stuck_out_tongue: and if you can understand multidimensional array manipulation, you’ll far enough down the esoteric thinking that needs to happen for any decent art piece…

i would probably suggest cutting the model at the doors, bonnet, boot and windows - unless its a game model, i dont see any reason to battle with one continuous mesh - a real car is thousands of seperate pieces after all. last time i made a car i found that useful for keeping the flow nicer aswell.

so far looks awesome!! as for lack of artistic talent … there is no such thing… it just takes practice, and alot of reference material - which brings me to attention to detail scrutinize everything!! all the lines shapes, concaves curves etc etc etc you are well on your way :stuck_out_tongue:

Hmmm… yeah, I was thinking about that, but i was hoping to do that at the end so that the seams are cleaner. Do you recommend I do that now or later on? Thanks :slight_smile:

Thanks for the encouraging words :stuck_out_tongue: I have been working with Blender for about a year now, and I have come to love it. However, I have primarily just worked on making small test projects to learn the many features of Blender, so I never really got much into working on actual projects :no: