Work in progress kitchen rendering, feedback wanted

Hi all,

I’ve been working on a personal project to learn blender. Have spent a lot of time on this kitchen and I would really like some feedback and suggestion on making it better.

Thanks!

2 Likes

This is beautiful! I love the baby grand in the background :slight_smile: The lighting is incredible, you’ve set up the scene well- I think my only critique would be to add some bump maps or displacement. The flat surfaces all seem very smooth, and real marble or wood flooring has more surface variations than you’ve got here.

Hey, thank you. That’s good feedback. The marble, cabinets, floor, etc. all have bump and/or normal maps applied. I wonder if I have the strength turned down a little low. I’ve also struggled getting the noise down on this scene a little so I wonder if the denoiser is flatting things out a little.

Thanks again!

1 Like

I’m completely new to Blender, with no experience. I’m planning on rendering our upcoming kitchen project, so I’m looking for inspiration and advice. This looks awesome. I’m looking forward to being at your level.

My 2 cents: it feels the lighting is kinda harsh i.e the shadows from the base cabinet handles are really dark and overly precise. The countertop on the other hand feels overly bright. The window behind the grand piano suggests a bright sunny day that should throw some warm ambient light into the kitchen, no?

Cheers, Stephan