Workflow for modelling a real landscape

Hi all,

I’m looking for some opinions on the best way to tackle this project. Bear in mind I’m fairly new to Blender and 3D software in general.

Basically I need to model an environment in pretty high detail - about 2km x 2km squared. Beyond that 2km x 2km area I will have more landscape but it will be lower detail since the camera will never go there.

I have 5 metre contour data in the form of a DEM, which I then brought into Blender as a 16bit tiff and used the greyscale values along with the displace modifier to create the terrain. So far that system is working pretty well for me. However, there are a few problems I can’t get my head around:

• I would like to increase the detail of this terrain beyond the 5 metre data so that it looks realistic when the camera is at ground level. No, there is no higher resolution data for that area available unfortunately. So I have to manipulate the ground manually. I think that the best way to do that would be to overlay the satellite imagery (pretty high res) of the area and use that as a guide to add extra bumps, paths, cliffs, streams etc. via sculpting. The problem with this is I cannot see the texture while sculpting which makes it pretty hard to do. I thought about actuall y not sculpting in Blender at all, and instead artificially increase the resolution of the DEM in photoshop, then manipulating the DEM there before bringing it into Blender. However I think that I will be working even more blindly than just sculpting in Blender. Can anyone can think of a smarter way to do this?