working in the cg industry

hi everybody! i will make it simple and straight as i possibly can, without being superficial. i’m a 28 year old guy, who likes computer graphics in general, i like video games, i like to model objects with 3d software (some of them are posted in this forum), and love art in general…now, my point is, i’ve never done any work in the cg industry for anybody…no one knows me, neither i have a reasonable knowledge of most CG software out there,…is there a possibility, for a 28 year old guy like me who has never exposed that much himself into this large community, to start considering success in the CG industry? i know i’m being simplistic and (hopefully not) overbearing, but you know…just a question popped in my mind a few months ago…so thanks in advanced if any of you might take a second to answer! (sorry for the BAD, bad english…trying to learn that as well!)

Hi Dimebag, another Italian here.
I’m a professional 3d artist (well developer really, but for Vfx and 3d in general), and there’s no expiration date to became one.
That said, if you want to start approaching this industry, Italy might not be the best choice, although, you can get pretty solid education from one of the bigger schools (guess which one).

Just bare in mind, if you aim to somewhere like London, or Canada, they start pretty early with dedicated education, so you’ll find yourself with bosses younger than you or your same age :wink:

if you want to have a private chat , just PM me.
Cheers.
L.

Hi dimebag, I found interesting your question. Unfortunately I’m not a professional 3d artist, so my answer could be useless however I think that you could find opportunities to work in the CG even at 28. I would start by creating a portfolio, maybe also by selling models on sites like Turbosquid, just to build a reputation online. Then you can also try to reply to the forum posts where people looks for “3d artists”: apply and… cross your fingers. :slight_smile: