Writing a rock generator script

So, i’ve been learning some Blender scripting and i’m trying to create a simple rock generator, inspired by this MaxScript:

http://tools.iamgregamato.com/images/GT_RockGen.gif

It seems that he’s using voronoi cells for the rock shape and simplex noise for the displacement texture. I have some questions for the experienced scripters out there:

• How can i displace a mesh dynamically?
  • Does Blender have built in functions for creating meshes from voronoi cells?
  • Would it be easier to start with a primitive, like a cylinder or box, and apply a voronoi cell to it’s vertexes and then displace with the noise?

How would you guys approach this?

would be easier to use the rock gen in addons contrib.

Oh, i’m not really interested in the final product. I’m interested in learning how much easier Blender can be for manipulating meshes. I have lot’s of experience with MaxScript and, the way i would do it in Max, would be:

• Generate a box with random dimensions
  • Generate a voronoi cell map with cellular()
  • Make some noise with noise()
  • Add displacement modifiers to the box with cell and noise maps
  • Add some turbosmooth

So, i’m trying to make the same steps in Blender, but i’m new with it and would like to know if someone experienced can give me some guidelines. Like, where to look in the docs for applying displacement modifiers, smoothers, how to generate voronoi cells, how to generate simplex noise, etc.

Bumpit bump! :slight_smile:

i would look at the code for the current “rock generator” and reverse engineer that

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Extensions:2.6/Py/Scripts/Add_Mesh/Rock_Generator
the thread here on this site

another interesting approach is the “To Sphere” option in ANT Landscape.