wrong modelling technique?

hi everyone!

so, this is my first post - since i’m a newbie i mostly spent time on this great forum reading posts instead of asking the questions every newbie would ask.

so, i have read a few posts, a few tuts and dozens of tips & tricks and finally started working on something. it’s - suprise! - a human model. it’s still in a not-even-pre-alpha-stage and i have stumbled across an item i don’t get.

what i basically did was this: use a cube to create everything, extruding, slicing, rotating and moving it to create the … erm, thing that it is now. then i applied a subsurf-modifier to get it round. all in all it took me quite some time to create this bloody thing (approx. 12 - 16 hours).

http://www.weirdity.de/blender/test1.jpg

i’m finished the basic shape (i think :o) and am now getting into detail, starting with the legs. and here’s my first problem: i made the legs round, but after i apply the subsurf-modifier, the legs look kind of square on the inside. here’s the blend.

besides that, i think the result so far stinks pretty much. is using my above mentioned method any good? i have read about using curves, but i had a heck of a time to even get something started. [/i]

i hope some one can enlighten me!

thanks!

You just have way too many verts in the leg that are too close together. This makes it look more like a bevelled edge than a round, smooth surface.

Also, since you used a cube to start with, you will need to oush some verts around so that it no longer looks like a cube. Make it rounder in areas and this will also help.

Your legs could use half the verts you currently have and acheive a lot bette results.

BgDM

BGDM said it - you either have to many verts or you have applied a crease but since you are new to blender you probably didn’t do that.

if you need more help and tuts you can find some stuff at Real Effects Studios and the Forum … which also has a Blender Academy and Free Image Hosting for their members! :wink: