YAFRAY/yablex for newbie

:x I am really frustrated with blender’s embedded yafray. I finally got it to render. however, I can not get it to render materials and textures. what I am I doing wrong. There are not many tutorials out there for newbies.

I would also like to try the YABLEX. I bought offical Blender 2.3 Guide. It has excellent documentation. However, being a newbie I do not know how to install the Yable script and where to get it and the steps to implement it on a windows xp machine. Please keep it smiple.

:expressionless:

well, yafray doesn’t support certain blender procedural textures. I only know of the stucci bump texture, but i think there are more. And yafray also only supportes .tga and .jpg filetypes as textures.

I would strongly suggest you stick with blender/YafrayUI only. You will have even more trouble using YABLEX further it may not be working on current version of blender.

I made a videotut on Yafray which you can download from here.

https://blenderartists.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=43694&start=30&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

I hope that it will be of some use to you. In any case try asking your queries either here or at yafray.org forums I am sure there is away that you can learn it faster.

I did not know about .RAR files. how do I open them. I have down loaded your video files. But their extension such as howto-yafray-dof.avi.rar i could not open.
I am assuming their is a offical website to download the .rar files please let me know.

http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm

Hi cool!

I highly recommend reading this excellent article by Glen Moyes:

http://glenmoyes.com/articles/to_those_learning_3d.shtml

At the completion of this article, you would realize a lot of things including the need to READ THE MANUAL TO ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE POSTING questions like this here…

I am not really trying to offend you or such… but I guess the blender documentation clearly describes the use of yafray with blender.