YAOM Project (Yet Another Open Movie)

Hi all, as advised,

I will discuss this project before pulling in team members, releasing detailed information and so forth. First of all, I am a media professional (generalist) that is stepping into producing. I want to learn how to produce a full feature film. Its my hope that others out there want to learn how to make a full feature film with Blender. So- its already been done. Yes, but not a full length 60+ minute quality feature. So how can it be done- especially with people not familiar with making a full length feature with Blender?

Answer:

NUMBER 1:
This project will NOT immediately work on the full feature. But rather, it is a series of 8 films (hopefully all award-winning) culminating into the full length feature. No- not 8 pieces of the full length… 8 films. How does that help everyone involved to learn the process well?
Simple- we double the length adding an added complexity until we get to the full-length. For example:
:30- Fur
1:00- Particles
2:00- Destruction
4:00- Smoke…

64:00- Full Level

So each time the project gets harder- but the original team learns how to overcome these complexities. This way, precious time is not spent solving massive problems for one large film- which wastes a LOT of time sometimes.

NUMBER 2:
The story will be EVERYTHING. In other words, we’re not necessarily doing fluid calculations that require 700 GB because we can (Please say someone can do that though). If it does nothing for the story- then nope. These featurettes and feature should (will) rival a PIXAR production. That means story first, CG second. Quality will be a real focus. What if those onboard are just learning? Don’t join if you don’t LOVE research, trying new things, and CG in general. Asking questions, and making it happen has to be key qualities.

NUMBER 3: