Blender realistic bamboo with detailed segments in geometry nodes

**Hi **
I am new to blenderartist.org.

I am working on a geometry node in blender, that allows to draw random bamboo shapes, with highly detailed segments and scratches and so on.

Here is my node tre in creating a detailed segmental pattern of the bamboo. I want to get the best out of this thing. I try to keep the polygon count low, and only increase them in the neccessary places, like the segment ‘ring’ of the bamboo. I struggle now only with repeating the segmental ring along the bezier curve and to decrease the subdivision curve between the segmantal rings, where they are not neccessary.

What i want to achieve is:
https://i.stack.imgur.com/1HusW.png

Any ideas?

Hello and welcome here !

The biggest pointer I can give is to not hesitate to go back and forth between mesh and curves, as they don’t have the same operation set.
For instance, you can extrude a mesh line, and you can also split-edges.
But you can resample curves and also trim them, and of course convert them to mesh to give them thickness.

You can try to do some kind of an array, but you might also just make a line long as the whole bamboo , resample that using the appropriate segment length and do a split edge, that will give you as much curves as you need and they can be converted to bamboo segments eventually using the procedure you already made. Of course you’ll have to do some mesh → curve → mesh conversion when needed…

Well, there are different ways to approach this but it can become a bit advanced.
One option is to create points and remove those who are not needed, by inspecting the next points and comparing their radius…
But a simpler way would be to generate only the points that you need, maybe by trimming the segment by some amount , and extrude the needed points to form the bulge then converting to curve to eventually set the appropriate radius on these points.