Iron Maiden's Eddie

A tribute to Eddie, Iron Maiden’s mascot.

61 Likes

It’s pretty cool! The main vibe is there, however I think you could use some darker elements, like for example the pillars on the side could be a bit darker or less lit, so the character pops more. Also, Eddie could maybe use some more shadows to make him a bit grittier and get across more Maiden vibes.

I quickly sketched over how you could - in my humble opinion - improve it. The model is already pretty cool, just a few tweaks with the light could improve it a lot.

Rim lights would also be good to tell the viewer where you want them to look. So heads and the fists, maybe the chains could be a bit lit from behind.

Cheers!

4 Likes

I like it. Captures the Powerslave artwork style quite well.

Thank you very much for your feedback. To be honest I didn’t really paid any attention to the lighting, thinkibg that an enviromental light would be sufficient. How wrong was I. Though I have to admit I’m not good at all at lighting, I followed your advice and this is what I got.

Thanks again for the useful advices.

7 Likes

Thank you. Glad you like it.

Sweet! Yeah looks a lot clearer now!

I featured you on BlenderNation, have a great weekend!

2 Likes

As a huge fan of the band, I just love it, this is a perfect tribute !

You’re on the featured row! :+1:

1 Like

Thank you Bart. Really appreciate it.

Up the Irons! Nice job!
Also thank you @bartv for always featuring great artworks in this amazing online community.

3 Likes

:metal:
So it shall be rendered, so it shall be done!

2 Likes

@barttv announced at 6am that the artwork was on the featured row.

At 5 o’clock, they take me to the gallows.

And as a clue to why I like this artwork, spot the Maiden stuff around my workstation.

2 Likes

Hello everyone,

Presenting the “Behind the Scenes” article for this amazing artwork!