Whats next for the CG industry?

Intro:

I feel that I’ve gotten into CG at quite a turbulent time as far as technological advancement goes. I’ve been using blender on and off since around November 2014. With increasing frequency I am seeing so much about photo scanned textures, photogrammetry, PBR realtime rendering, virtual reality, etc. and now I don’t quite know where I should be looking and focusing my energy.

Discussion question:

Are the current methods of doing things going to be outdated so quickly that it will be outdated knowledge knowing how to model, sculpt, texture, etc. by hand will be outdated soon? Will new 3D programs come out with the increasing availability of 3D printers that make it so anyone can easily make 3D, hurting the industry for designers? Is the demand 3D artists going to go down as technology advances and people can easily create models with an iPhone? Where is the most future proof place to focus my energy? Should I get more into photogrammetry?

There surely are no definitive answers for some of these things, but I’d like to start a discussion and get input from people more educated on the subject.

I think that is some way off, 3D printing isn’t widely used, and nobody owns one in the home yet.

I think having a brief of may be all of those new tech is good to get to know, as put it 3D modelling as it has been known for a few decades now may look different in the next few.

The PC has gone from a desk to the hand, even with less functionality for certain tasks, but nevertheless it has happened as only scifi had portrayed only twenty years ago, like on Deep Space 9 or Voyager the computer pad.

I don’t even own a windows phone, but I was reading processor in a mobile phne.:smiley:

3D scanning and printing will never ever replace good old modeling/sculpting until someone comes up with a way to scan imagination and spit out a 3D model :smiley: