1969 Toyota 2000GT

Texturing and lighting done with Blender Octane renderer. Looking for some critique on how to improve photorealism and textures on anything that might stand out to you.

Thanks!

I’m not an expert at anything, so I wouldn’t take me too seriously. Most of my comments boil down to “I’d like it better if there was more light and better contrast”. I’m having a hard time finding low-light shots of this car, so it’s hard to say how much of what I’m seeing is lack of realism and how much is just being used to seeing daylight shots.

1. The first thing I noticed is how flat the image looks. I don’t think that’s unrealistic, as it can be difficult to get good-looking images of real cars, especially in low-light conditions. However, it’s aesthetically unpleasing.

It’s very difficult to see the contours on the car, particularly the hood region, with only a little shading down the side. Again, not wrong, just doesn’t feel nice.

2. Next, I think the paint is too mirrored. Looking at pictures of actual 2000GTs, it does appear they’re far more mirrored than any of my cars, but you mostly still only see reflections of bright lights, not the scene itself. I’m not sure you’d see the building doors reflecting so nicely off a real car.

In real photos where you can see reflections, there are a lot of specular highlights from the bright lighting that aren’t present in your image, and the reflections seem more wavy.

Also, I don’t think the mirrors should be reflecting the red car along the bottom edge. Similarly, the corner bumper above the indicator shouldn’t be reflecting so severely. It seems logical that chrome might reflect like this, but I’m not seeing this in any of the real photos. Without finding and staring at lots of chrome I’m not sure what would cause it to not reflect imagery like a mirror.