2.5 Animation Tutorial?

I’m completely new to animating and was using the noob to pro belnder wikibook. I’ve been figuring out what to do on the new interface while following the book’s instructions, but when it comes to the bones page, I’m completely lost. I’ve gotten as far as laying out all the armatures and naming them. I can’t set the parent to the character object- I try to select character under the parent box for the armature model and it just doesn’t change. Idk what to do- is there an animation tutorial for 2.5? Thanks.

I’m not sure what you are asking…? Do you want to parent the object to the armature? TO do this (in object mode) you select your Mesh, then shift click the armature. Now you hit CTRL-P.

It parents the mesh to the armature and gives you a chance to automatically make weight groups. Is this what you mean?

i did that, but idk what’s going on. I mean- the armature bones under armature in the modifiers don’t say the parent is the body. and when I move the bones the mesh doesn’t move, but the wikibook says they should if I did it right.

Can you post a blend file?

Can you post a link to the wiki book on what you are supposed to be doing?