2023 demo reel

Hi! Finally I managed to put together a new reel! It took me a while, but it was time! Also, it’s nice to take a moment to look back and see all the work you’ve been doing in the last years :slight_smile:

Most of it is blender, with a few houdini, marvelous designer and EmberGen simulations here and there. Compositing was usually done in after effects.

I am a self taught 3d artist, and I’ve been doing it for a job for the last 12 years, mostly as a 3d generalist and compositor. 3 years ago I went full time freelance, opening my small company The Oven. Being a freelancer definitely presents its challenges compared to a full time job, but I really enjoy the freedom it gives!

I should also mention that the big rome/greece scenes of the Colosseum and the Acropolis, where done together with a small team. Beside some of the modelling (which was done together with the above mentioned team), I was in charge of assembling the scenes, lighting, rendering and doing all the vfx/animations/crowds and compositing.

Enough talking… here’s the reel! Hope you’ll like it!
If you have questions, feedback or just wanna get in touch to chat about 3d and graphic you’ll find my social media accounts on my profile!

28 Likes

Hey Bernardo!
We share the same origins in Blender learning, and I’m sure we have traveled similar paths in our professional lives.

Here’s a random thought (for everyone):
I have always found the term ‘Freelancing’ to be a vague description… in both my case and yours, it feels like an undervalued portrayal of what we actually do.

In every aspect of our business, it is fundamentally similar to any VFX or animation company. We need to find clients, captivate them, earn their trust with the tasks they assign us, and ultimately work on delivering those tasks.