3D print Circular Spider Web Coil Former

Total beginner to design stls for 3d Printer, am a metal detecting enthusiast and wish to build coils of different diameters for such using spider web spiral coil design using lightweight filaments. Perhaps there is a 4M member who has been down this path.

Welcome :tada:…

for such a specific / special field you might have to show/ give some reference so that someone might give some modelling tips.

Or… just have alook at any (?) 3D printing platform… for example:

…or because there is some more things involved than "modelling use a metall detection forum ?? :

Many Thanks for reply, I belong to a few detector forums but unfortunately very few are also 3d printer enthusiasts. I have attached a photo that shows my first blender 3d printed model just being a simple 265mmx10mm cylinder, in this photo is a partially completed spider web former that we make out of foam board, that gives you folks an idea of what Im trying to 3d print, weight has to be kept down si Id print with say 5% infill and use a PLA FW lightweight foaming filament.

Add images

Ohh… so you want to know how make something like this very quick (for which i needed five minutes) so you can make this one you own ?? :

…in the long term this indeed might be a case for geometry nodes so someone can give vary paramter like amount of “wings” (odd even), radius for hole, inner, outer “wing-border”, strengte of supply beams and coil beam, special notches for wire to be “exact”…
Maybe a 3D-printer expert can also say how thick some parts must be at least or where you can make things thinner…

1 Like