3DS Max, Maya, or Blender?

Hello everyone. I have been using Blender for 6 months and really like it given I know how to use it very well. I recently got the option to get Maya for free and I took it. Learning it has been a pain. I keep wanting to use Blender’s shortcuts to do things in Maya but that just slows me down. I have also heard about 3DS Max and I wanted to get opinions on that. I prefer to use Blender because it offers very easy ways of shading and texturing. And there are countless tutorials that explain how to do pretty much everything. I am pretty sure Maya will really help me get better at modeling and help me get a job but the interface and tools are not as beginner friendly. Plus, doing anything in Maya is too slow for my liking. If my friend hadn’t convinced me that learning Maya will really help me get a job, I would still be using Blender. Ideas?

Maya is easier. You are not supposed to be texturing in Maya though, you would use another app for that. UVing is no problem though, use viewport 2.0 for good real time rendering. For rendering scenes within Maya use Mental Ray materials…easy to access…just right click on the object, go down to the spot where you add a material and pick the right one. Very simple stuff. Blender actually puts you through more steps just to get a decent texture going. You just need to learn how Maya works.

Depending on the industry and location you are interested in, 3DS Max is also a good tool to know. In the US for example its used in games quite a bit on the east coast, where as Maya is seen more on the west coast. Matte Painters will often be using something like C4D.

Maya has some powerful nurb modeling you can do too and it can be converted over to polys.