3ds Max vs. Maya nowadays and in the future

Hey guys!

I’ve been using Blender for about 2,5 years now, basically from about my age of 12. 3D art catched my interest and I decided few years later I want to do it as a job. I picked a high school for 3D art.
blah blah, history aside, I’m trying to learn an industry standart software now. I was browsing through few studios. And since I want to do modeling (and I’m bad at creating characters :<), most of Environment artist positions had 3ds Max in requirements… just Max, not Maya or Modo… that kinda surprised me…

That encouraged me into finally starting learning Max, so I downloaded a student version. The first experience was horrible, and nothing is like in Blender >:C That brings me to another question… Why is interface so unfriendly? It’s the worst of all 3D applications in my opinion.

So I went through few forums again, and found out that I’m actually not the only one who doesn’t like Max’s first impressions. Some people even said that Max is kinda dying and there’s no point learning it.
I thought Maya’s mostly used for animation and Max has modeling power, but seeing those Maya updates and watching Max staying behind (imo)…

Well, guys, what do you think? Do you recommend me learning Max even tho it seems Autodesk likes Maya more? I mean, I’m aware I’ll spend sooo much time on it and it might all come for nothing.

I know you guys can’t predict the future, I’m just asking for your opinion.

btw. I personaly like Modo most for it’s modeling tools, but it seems not many studios share my opinion :smiley:

Thanks for your time and answers!

First lesson: new skills are never wasted. Even if you don’t use them financially you are still enriched by them… and it’s easier to adapt later on. I do understand the issue in wasting time on stuff you won’t need though. Up to you.

The GUI: