A Blender project to animate an entire audiobook

I’m new here!

My wife and I have been running a podcast for over a year now, a serialised audiobook of her novel ‘The Trouble with Transformation’. We decided not long into it that we wanted to have a animated version on YouTube to get more traction with the story. So I started looking into animation methods, with no knowledge other than having worked as a photographer for a decade, I started playing with After Effects and pretty much by chance discovered Blender via tutorials on YouTube, this was back in April. Since then I’ve learned as much as I could learn and spent many…many hours on this project to build scenes, characters…pre production work. Owing to the nature of the episode frequency, and sometimes 10 minute+ episodes everything is being done with Eevee in a very simplistic ‘cartoony’ way. We released our teaser trailer yesterday on YouTube and although still very flawed in terms of technical and artistic presentation I thought I’d share it here. Episodes will be weekly from here on in I hope and I’ll be learning and improving as I go hopefully:

3 Likes

Dude that is a solid first animation, awesome job. Especially the car, that was cleannn. :ok_hand: The selfy camera shake, while being a cool idea, actually came out a little dizzying imo, it might be easier and more appealing to have a smooth camera shot or maybe just tone down the shakyness. Just my two cents. Seriously though nice work man.