A few feature requests

Hi !

As a long time 3ds max user who started with blender (it was in the nineties, somewhere around 98 or 99), I’d like to help a bit to suggest some features to help in the modeling process. I love what you guys did with the program, it’s so much better than before I just can’t imagine.

So I gave the new release a test run and came out with some feature requests. These are things that you really need to be on par with any other polymodeling software, and it’s basic stuff (maybe not to implement, but as features, they are important).

• Backface culling

This is critical, I’m a level designer and without backface culling I lose a lot of time hiding faces. You need it ASAP, this could actually be a reason for a new 2.36 release. :wink:

• Target weld (merge)

This is something I miss so much. Welding at the middle is nice, welding at the 3d cursor is nice, but it not right if you want to weld multiple vertices at the existing place of a certain vertex.

The way I see it would be (with blender workflow in mind is)

1. Select a bunch of vertices
  2. Alt+M > To target
  3. Select the vertex (it is an unselected vertex) that you want your selection to be merged to

And it’s done.

• Planar constraints

(I’ve already been answered on this one, this is a new feature for the next release, good job !)

• Smoothing groups

If you know 3ds max, you know smoothing groups.

This is a very useful feature for smoothing. You assign a certain smoothing group to a number of faces. These faces are then smooted together. Smoothing groups can also be mixed, so a texture can have multiple groups assigned to one. Again, really important for any game modeling. Splitting meshes isn’t a way to go, you can’t mix the smoothing groups to have advanced effects and some games do not accept models with overlapping vertices and open edges.