A general question about GPL....

I am really interested in starting a premium website and was wanting to use GPL’d software (such as the blender plugin for games and PHPBB)and some QPL’d software (a chat client). And was wondering if the GPL License applied ONLY to distribution of the software in general. Now I only plan to USE the GPL’d software and NOT distribute it in any way. Is this kosher or do I need to get permission from the Software owners to use on a premium board?

One other question, If I make modifications to the software am I obligated to distribute it or can I be real jerk and just use the modified code on my premium site? Remember I have no plans to distribute or sale any of the code. I simply want to use it on a premium site.

I am very new to this sort of thing and I am sure that someone here could help me out.

Thanks in advance.

As long as these things aren’t downloaded by the user there’s no distribution taking place.
Noone forces you to distribute your stuff. That’s just a lie issued by Microsoft. You can keep it all for yourself, but if you start giving it to others, you have to abide the GPL.
If you could give a more specific explaination of how these tools get used it’d be easier to help you…

OK I thought as much, just wanted to make sure.

So far as to what I want to do is

1. Have a premium Forum Board (PHPbb)
  2. Have a Premium Chat Client for members (Voodoo) - This software is QPL’d and this is the one I would like to modify the most. But I think that the rules are basically the same, as long as I am not distrubuting or selling the code, I can do what I want. (At least that is the way I interpret the License)
  3. As far as Blender is concerned I would like to design some Online games with the Blender Plugin in mind (When they finally release the Library for the game engine later this summer :D) These Games of course would be for premium subscribers.