a mandrel

Total noob question…

I have a friend (and neighbor) who makes jewelry. She uses these forms called ‘mandrels’–sort of conical shapes that might be circular or elliptical or, say, octagonal in cross-section. She has some ideas for some more exotic shapes, and she wants me to 3D print them.

I’ve gotten the shape she wants into an svg, and pulled it into Blender. That much was easy. I can extrude it and make an odd tube. I’m now trying to make my tube into a cone, and getting stuck. I’ve been following the directions on Youtube entitled ‘Introduction to using curves in Blender - part 3 - Aparima Blender Club.’ (this being my first post I can’t add a link.)

They work till I add the second Bezier curve. It sort of makes a duplicate tube instead of just adding a curve so I can taper, and I can’t seem to grab and move the Bezier handles separately. I seem to be stuck just moving the whole object.

I recently installed blender, so it should be pretty up to date.

Could you give us some more information, specifically this mandrel shape. Also do you have any previous experience with blender? I have a hard time judging your knowledge and skill level since this is your first post.

The issue of moving the entire object could be as easy as entering edit mode (as opposed to object mode). But then again you might already know this so some more information would be helpful :wink:

I have basically no experience with Blender. I’m a software developer, so I can generally figure things out, but I was messing with this kind of a while, so I came here. This is the first thing I’ve done with it.