A treasure chest

Hi!

This is my first post here and I hope to learn a lot from you guys. I got an idea of making a treasure chest (no other reason, it just stuck in my head and could not let it go) and I thought I would figure out all the details myself. I googled some reference photos and then mixed the parts I liked. I am not very good at texturing, so I used the textures here: http://www.blenderguru.com/videos/create-realistic-materials-with-cycles/
And tweaked the rusty metal and the wood textures a little to get something that fits my needs.

I am still thinking about putting the chest on a sandy seashore (instead of the popular white plain), but I don’t have much experience with materials like sand. So how would you do that? I’ve tried to play around with noise and some colors but it didn’t give very good results. Any feedback or suggestion is appreciated.

This is how it looks right now:

I like it!
It looks well done, and well textured, just the wood textures is a bit too blurred, I guess because of its size; you could try to add contrast to it in an image editing program.
I would suggest also to better differentiate metal and wood texture because they have a quite similar tone.
Maybe the metal could be darker than the wood, maybe the opposite, it could depend on several factors, I would prefer the former.

As for the sand, I would sculpt a plane, then a noise as bump texture should do the effect.

Keep it up!

paolo