A unique but simple camera problem

I’m working on a project with the game engine that involves doing some camera tracking with physical sensors on a physical tripod. It’s for doing virtual sets with Blender. I’m new to Python, but I still managed to get Blender working with pyserial to pull data in from the sensors.

I’ll spare you the “getdata()” function details, but here’s a snippit of my code:

currentdata = getdata()
print ('pan  ='), currentdata['pan']
print ('tilt ='), currentdata['tilt']
print ('zoom ='), currentdata['zoom']
print '
'

when this runs in Blender, the console outputs this:

pan  = 1.2448489011
tilt = 0.230082417582
zoom = 98.2646153846

So I have the data coming in correctly, but I don’t know how to get the Blender camera to be set to these numbers. It should be easy, but I’m too new to the game engine. Something about “setrot”…? help!

I have my logic set up like this, because I want the script to update the camera’s position every frame.
Sensor:always—>Controller:script(cartoni.py)–>Motion&Ipos.

Thanks for your help!

I’m getting somewhere…

myObj = Blender.Object.Get("Camera")
myObj.RotX = currentdata['tilt']
myObj.RotY = 0
myObj.RotZ = currentdata['pan']
Blender.Redraw()

Okay, this gets me somewhere. It seems I need to convert my numbers into radians.

Is there a better way to do this within the game engine? This method of setting things causes problems with the BGE. I mean, I need to set the camera’s rotation in the actuator to a specific value, not to change it by a certain value.

See the KX_GameObjects orientation property. you can modify this.
You can also use alignToVect() to align the objects axis to a vector you define.

Get the XYZ vector of the angle (I think you’ll have to do it manually with trig functions), then use myObj.alignAxisToVect(vector,axis)
where axis is the local axis you want to align (Z is forward)