Acrylic plastic

Hi. I am trying to achieve a realistic render of a furniture project I am doing for myself.

I really tried to research before coming to ask here. The subject seems to be overly explained…but I spend two hours looking for tips and answers…and only few things there. Every time I went into a post with the title of “transparent plastic” they were not exactly regular ones or cycles, but eevee and some kind of twist on the regular transparent plastic.

I found this super nice talk on glass by Vilem Duha at the Blender conference.

I tried two of the approaches Vilem proposes in the video, but I am not totally sure glass and acrylic plastic behaves similarly or should have different nodes. I am thinking this cause both of the approaches I tried by Vilem did not give me the 100% desired result. So it might have to do that either acrylic is not the same or that I am not experienced in physics and actually it looks like it will look in reality and I am expecting something I shouldn’t.

This is the best attempt so far. I checked at home some transparent plastics I have in the kitchen…and they do not seem to have such drastic banded refraction, you can see how the wood behind the transparent plastic gets distorted. The plastic is 2mm thick…and in the render looks like if it was solid glass…my attempt is closer to a “case” of the phone if you make a section…more like a 2 mm skin.

I also notice the bottom edge does not show the thickness of the plastic (which helps to think it looks like a solid block of glass) …and the little bit a can see is a really dark line, which I am trying to avoid.

This is the node I copied from the video:

You can also see the plastic mesh is using a solidify modifier. But I checked applying everything and the outcome is the same…so I don’t think the use of modifiers is a problem.