Adobe RGB display device

Hello, I must be completely missing the point… ^^

So, I’ve read so much about color theory, color spaces, etc pp, up and down, multiple times. I’m not a pro (well, only a pro software developer), but I think I got it - I hope. What I do not understand is why there is no “Adobe RGB” display device available within the scene’s color management settings. I also didn’t find anyone asking this before - so there must be something I don’t understand. :slight_smile:
What I could do is setting the display device to “none” and do the color conversion in the compositor. But all I find information about is gamma correction etc pp, but no conversion from linear space to Adobe RGB.

However, there are two additional things that come into play: Windows’ color management ICC profiles, and the “use EDID information” setting in the graphic card’s (CCC) options. No, my screen (Dell 3008WFP) is not calibrated, but this doesn’t matter now as I’d like to understand everything first.

My sources of information, apart from Wikipedia, were

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Render/Post_Process/CM_And_Exposure
http://www.photozone.de/the-very-basics?PageSpeed=noscript
http://www.itp.uni-hannover.de/~zawischa/ITP/wirkungen.html
http://www.filmscanner.info/Farbtemperatur.html
http://www.brucelindbloom.com/

and many other more (that I do not remember). Many make contradictionary or inconsistent statements (even after reading them dozends of times) or don’t use precise wording, so it was a hard time to figure out what’s right or wrong in the past month.

I’m pretty sure I’m not the first one experiencing this. But my actual question is why there is no Adobe RGB display device available in Blender.

Thanks!

I’m not exactly clear on what you need.

I’m guessing you’re not looking to convert from linear to Adobe RGB by eye?