Advanced Hand Rig

Hi,

I am currently trying to rig a hand that should be able to assume fairly complex poses. As I have no real experience in organic stuff, let alone rigging organic stuff, I wanted to ask for help here. If someone has some tips on this area, screenshots, blend files, general techniques, it would be much appreciated.

http://www.blender.org/documentation/htmlI/x7613.html An oldie but goodie.

I don’t know your level of knowledge but I have uploaded a quick hand rig that wil be helpful if you are a true n00b at this. Note that the palm is disconnected from the fingers but finger1 finger2 and finger3 are children of it (edit mode), and the fingers have IK solvers with chainlen 3 (pose mode). This also demonstrates a simple but good naming convention and hierarchy, if you have two hands on a symetrical character you would need L and R (left,right) after each name. To finish this simple rig and make it better you would add control bones on another layer and apply more constraints to limit rotation and such, but complex animations can be achieved with just this. But it would be easier for the animator with more controls and constraints.

Attachments

n00bie-hand-rig.blend (129 KB)

That’s a nice start N00BIE, but I feel I should say something here…

I have a feeling this ‘targetless IK’ technique was an old Blender hack to achieve easy FK animation… and since much of the rigging documentation is quite dated I still see people using it. But there is never a need to use targetless IK! The Auto-IK feature will produce the same behaviour without any broken constraints. If you remove the targetless IK solvers in your rig, turn on the Auto-IK, then grab the end finger joint and translate it you will see the behaviour is exactly the same.

Another thing to watch out for is the orientation of your bones. Since the bones in the fingers are all curved sideways, the IK will want to bend sideways by default as well. That can lead to frustration.