Advice for modeling a stylistic island similar to Wuhu Island in Wii Sports Resort

Hi everybody,

I am relatively new to Blender and brand new to this forum, so please let me know if I have made any mistakes with this post.

I am working on a little pet project to create a spiritual successor to the island flyover mode in Wii Sports Resort. I want to create an island similar to Wuhu Island in the original game with interesting geographical features and manmade developments to explore and fly around.

This is the most ambitious thing I have taken on in Blender so far, and I have never really created any proper environments before, so I am not really sure where to begin. I was hoping the people in this forum might give me some pointers or advice for how to go about a project like this. Most of the tutorials and resources I have found online are focused on making more realistic islands which is not what I am really after.

Any advice is welcome.

Thank you in advance!

Wuhu Island

Welcome :tada:…

…roughly outline your island (maybe start with a simple circle… not too much vertices)… think about the (only) need topology in some areas ( street, between houses) make only this and “fill” up the rest… start to rise some areas (extrude and slight scale)…

I do not recommend to start for example with a leveled terrain on a 1000x1000 grid or somethign like that… becaue by far too much geometry…

1 Like

Hey, I know the topic is already closed, but I need help, too.
Can somebody describe the modeling workflow in detail?
My previous aproach was:

• Making a 100x100 Grid Plane
  • Circle select the areas I want to rise
  • Remashing with QuadFlow
  • Then Separate Grass areas from the “cliffs” for tillable textures

Please note I want this to run this in unity with good performance

Would be so thankful for help <3