Advice on Learning (Solidworks guy..)

I’m an engineer, and I mostly use Solidworks.

Lately I haven’t been happy with PhotoWorks, even the newest.

I got interested in rendering packages and ended up settling on learning Blender.

The thing is, the learning curve is steep, and I’m deciding about the path of learning I need to take.

The end result is: I want to be able to import my Solidworks models into Blender and render them photorealistically.

How do I start? I’ve already rendered basic stuff in Blender, read through lots of tutorials, learned how to import (messy) meshes.

My projects from CAD are a bit complex, so when I import them there are a ton of meshes and vertices. I’ve learned things like the decimate, etc… but, I’m very overwhelmed by this package

What’s my best path to take? Start with simple Solidworks models like speakers or chairs and learn to render more basic things before stepping up to more complex items?

Cheers for all the tutorials and replies you guys have written and I’ve lurked over them and learned from. :slight_smile:

Since it sounds like you have learned the basics, a good place to go for materials and texture learning would be here:

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Tutorials/Materials/BSoD/part1a

Cheers

I have to use SolidWorks models from mechancial designers to create my company’s animations (in Blender). This is what I do.

1. In SolidWorks, export each part separately. I usually export as VRML (.wrl), since this always seems reliable.
  2. In Blender, append the VRML objects. They usually import as very complex meshes, so use the Poly Reducer script to reduce them (typically to 50% or even 25%).
  3. Usually, Set Smooth is enough to make them look clean, but often I have to manually tweak vertices to make sure the smoothing works properly.
  4. Reassemble the parts within Blender and assign materials to each object (part).