Afraid - A Nymph in the Woods

Hey everyone, it’s my first post after a while. I wanted to share this artwork I finished recently.

I was inspired by a lot of classical paintings, and specifically composition, poses, clothing, themes and the feelings that their characters often tend to evoke.

So I started working on a piece for this character, call her a Hamadryad mixed with an angel. I would have loved to work more on the clothes, but I don’t have that much creativity yet, since I just started learning Marvelous Designer hahaha

The environment is fairly ‘simple’, a few instanced collections I’ve made with different forest assets, so I could just plug them into any scene and be coherent. They also all share a custom tree to change colors globally (I like to use blue vegetation in my scenes).

The scene is lit by three lights, a main one to present the forest, one illuminating the Hamadryad and another one just to add some volumetrics (that don’t mess too much with the view).

This is the Hamadryad, every piece of clothing is separated because they use different solidify settings. I was always so bummed out about clothing because weight painting never worked for me, neither did the data transfer modifier. But what actually worked wonders was the Surface Deform modifier, it was so easy!!

The horns are mirrored and parented to an empty, which has an armature constraint to the head of the Hamadryad (I don’t remember why I did it this way)

The jewels are just beveled basic shapes, and the ones on the arms are circles with a screw modifier.

The hair was made using the default hair geometry nodes in the Essentials section of the asset browser.

For this soft glowy effect and red halation I used two custom node trees in the compositor:

I didn’t like the default Fog Glow Glare node, so I made this one that gives me a bit more control (and I made it back when fog glow wasn’t available in the realtime viewport compositor, so it’s a bit outdated.