Almost the same render times on different capacity computers?

I am a beginner with Blender, at the moment rendering my very first small simple animation. Can anyone please suggest why render times would be almost the same on different capacity computers?

First I tried to render on my own laptop (Mac) which has no special separate graphics card, has 8 GB RAM and 20 GB free space. The average render time per frame was 5 min 20 s.

Then I sent the .blend file to my friend who has a Mac with 4GB graphics card, 16 GB RAM and 200 GB free space. Average render time per frame was 4 min 50 s.

Is it normal or do we have to change some settings somewhere to speed it up on the greater capacity computer?

If you sent them the file set to render on CPU, when they open it they would need to manually change it to use GPU, it might be as simple as that?

1 Like

Thank you @Photox, we checked the settings, but we both had the rendering set to GPU…

Post the specs on both of your graphics cards.

Mine is Intel UHD Graphics 617 1536 MB
Friend’s is Radeon Pro 560X 4 GB

You mean Eevee, right?
It would be helpful if you share the .blend file here.

That is not possible in your case with intel iGPU if you are really using Cycles (at the least at present). That’s why what you say is somewhat confusing and you’d better share the .blend file.

If you don’t want to share some objects from your scene, you delete those objects that you don’t want to share, you save .blend file with a different name from your project and you share that new .blend file here (to at least be able to see used settings)

1 Like

@ DhameswaraArt

Let set things in perspective.

I modelled my Nikon 20 years ago. Computer informed me that rendering time is 31 days.

Lets take the same model and render with Eevee 10 minutes. Well , why so long, too many polygons, polygons that are not REALLY needed.

1 Like