Alternative Motion Blur

I decided to do a little test to see whether I could get a better motion blur effect that the default one, and I think this one looks better on the whole, but it won’t work if you just move the mouse. You have to be moving with a velocity (which means the camera must be a rigid body). So yeah, just a test. hopefully some smart person can redo it to work a bit better, but I’m not good with object oriented python (copied and pasted for the most part :cool:).

Tell me what you think, and feel free to make it better if you like :slight_smile:

Attachments

motion_blur_alternative.blend (42.7 KB)

Cool!
Works good for me.
I love these things, because they work without glsl as well!

It works really weird when you move the mouse and you move around at the same time.

Yeah. I don’t fully understand the getVelocity() feature, which is what it uses to calculate the amount of blur. It’s not the like regular motion blur, where only the things that are moving get blurred, it will blur the whole screen using a radial blur when you move. And when you look around quickly too it can get a bit funky. So anyone’s open to improve it or anything. Mine is just a little test with my very limited object oriented python knowledge. The good thing is, I think this works on ATI cards and doesn’t have much performance hit at all.

@SpewBoy:

Radial blur looks ok if you move forward/backwards but for other moves you should use directional blur. It have to be possible to calculate vector of camera/any object movement.

Yeah, but I don’t know GLSL. I just use what has already been made. And my python really isn’t up to scratch. Maybe someone else could redo it with blur that still works on ATI cards, as this was the aim of my attempt.

Then you succeeded. I have an ATI Radeon x800pro and it works (I had to change some values, but it worked perfect). Good work!

Nice effect, I like it :slight_smile:
Thanks for sharing!