Animate physics?

Pardon my noobish ignorance.

As I play around with blender, I keep finding new and fun goodies all the time. I recently started playing with cloth and collisions, and love how simple it is to animate really good looking results.

Can other objects besides cloth be baked like that and then rendered in an animation? For example, if I make a ball of cloth over a landscape, and then render, it automatically figures out the gravity, bouncing and whatnot. I don’t have to put in keyframes for that motion.

What if I wanted to drop a solid ball (non-cloth)? Is there a way to bake on some physics to that for the purpose of rendering an animation?

I’ve played with making actors, rigid bodies, etc for the game engine and that’s a lot of fun (really looking forward to 2.48 with the GLSL textures), but is there a way to do the same type of thing for normal animation rendering?

Or do you just have to estimate your own physics each and every time you want something to bounce or fall or roll?

anomalydetected,

At the top of the 3D window, click on Game…Record Game Physics to IPO. This will create IPO curves for all of the objects in the simulation.

More info here.

Best of Luck!

Thank you so much, that works great!!! I feel like I’ve been missing out on half of the point of Blender this whole time.

In playing with it, it does seem like the gravity is a bit “slow”.For example, falling objects seem like they are moving in somewhat of slow-motion in my final render (look normal in the game engine though). I did try cranking up the gravity setting in the global environment options and it helps, but it only goes to 25 and then of course affects other things like bouncing, etc.

For now, I just manually scaled the IPO curve to make the falling action occur quicker and that works fine. But is there somewhere else I can adjust this globally, or would I just need to tweak the IPO curves to my tastes every time?

anomalydetected,