Animation rendering

Hi all,
I have a question about rendering character animations.

I was curious if anybody made a render test of animation in Cycles vs Eevee?
Im preparing an animation of my “Bad Guys” minion family and I am struggling with Cycles render times… One frame is rendering for about 20 min on my iMac, of course I could use my PC with graphic card but the rendering time is not significantly shorter than on the iMac CPU.

I saw that several Blender Studio animations, e.g. “Charge”, were rendered in Eevee and that makes me wonder if the rendering time of my animation would be better in Eevee than in Cyles. I’ve never tried Eevee before.
Does anyone have experience rendering animations in Eevee and Cycles?

I will be grateful for your thoughts on animation in both engines

2 Likes

Hey,
eevee is generally much faster than cycles and with the right lighting and materials is very similar.

I just did an animation with evee and the rendering came out very similar to cycles

total rendering time also depends on so many other things like lights, materials, number of objects, how detailed they are…

for very short animations I recommend cycles otherwise for long animations it is infeasible and you can only use eevee

However I would advise you to look at the number of samples, 20 minutes is way too long, lower the number of samples,
the visible difference is small but it reduces the time a lot

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply. And how long it took to render your 3:30 animation in Eevee?

First I split it into many 200 frames videos (total frames were 3400) then I also slowed them down by 0.8 to match the music , it took me a total of three and a half hours using 40 samples x frame

1 Like

Rendering in Eevee is dramatically faster. It is so dramatically faster that you shouldn’t even be asking, you should just be rendering in Eevee and seeing, it would take you less time.