Annoying problem when weight painting forearms!

Hello,

So I’m pretty new to rigging and whatnot and I’m trying to make my character’s arms bend by weight painting his forearms fully red, but for the past few days I’ve been stuck on this incredibly frustrating issue where the other half of the arm keeps getting a little paint on it and when I go to subtract it, it also ends up subtracting the forearm paint for some reason, which I have no idea as to why.

Here’s a video demonstrating said problem:

Here’s what bending the arm currently looks like with this ongoing issue:

As you see, it’s a must for me to fix this as it’s almost like the entire arm moves when trying to only move the forearm area I weight painted. I’ve looked up several tutorials and threads online but nothing really seems to be of use so far. Is there a way I can like efficiently mask out the first half of the arm and be able to only paint the forearm area I keep talking about without getting paint on the other half of the arm? I tried hiding it thinking that would work but it didn’t really make a difference and the problem persisted. Could it perhaps have to do with the arm’s topology or something? I’d truly appreciate it if someone knowledgeable on this was able to give an explanation on this silly issue as it’s currently holding back the progress on my game by a lot!

Thank you.

You can go into edit mode and select only the vertices you want in that group, then go to the vertex groups and add them manually, and do the same with removing them, but I’m not sure that’s going to fix your main issue.