Another nuclear explosion-first release, plz comment!

Greetings!

This is my first large project built exclusively in Blender. At this time, I’ve had it posted for about two months, but I was discouraged from posting it to this forum.

At the time I made this, I had been working with Blender for 4 months. Please know, at almost 7 months now, I’m still a noob. Lot’s to learn, but I’m a veteran of 3D art, so it’s really only a discovery of the tool at hand.

This animation is based on physical data from an actual nuclear weapon simulator I developed a few months prior. The data and equations were based on U.S. department of defense data released over the internet. This is aproximately a 10 kiloton blast at roughly 5 miles away. It features a “thermal pulse” with approximated damage-at-distance based on attenuation through a 72’F atmosphere at 500ft above sea level.

The shock wave begins at roughly 30X the speed of sound but by the time it reaches the “camera”, it’s travelling at only slightly above Mach.

I have a blend file available, I’ll post a link if interested. I can also post the simulator I wrote if REALLY interested. It’s rough and unfinshed, but interesting and functional for basic educational purposes…

I would have been happier with volumetrics, but I AM happy with the way it turned out.
2.5, can’t wait!

Please give comments and criticism.

Animation Link here

PICS:

Attachments

NICE! The Shroom cloud seems a little on the small side. But animation wise it looks really good. I especially like the delayed shockwave effect.

Thanks, ChojinDSL! I agree with you a little on the cloud, only I think that it is not so much too small, as it is too uniform in shape. Believe me, I messed and messed with it. It’s comprised of particle systems completely controlled by force fields. This was done so I could actually adjust the strength(size) of the explosion on the fly. There are no meshes to rework.