Any secrets to share on drawing in paint programs?

I was just wondering about wether we can share secrets on drawing with paint programs and how to make pictures look good. Things that could apply wether you’re on PSP 7 or GIMP or photoshop or whatever.

I kind of felt like drawing a cartoon type of picture in PSP 7 and I used a lot of point by point vector objects to make it. Though it doesn’t seem to be as good as Sago’s cartoons.

So any secrets on making 2D images such as this?

If you want to know what I drew here it is. Not Sago quality, but it gets the point across.
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/Traditional-art/C1.jpg
As you can see I’m fairly new at this so it’s not quite professional quality.

A Wacom tablet is a must for digital painting/sketching. Probably something you will want to get if you don’t already have one.

P.S. Damn, 11.25 posts per day! You should get out more. :eek:

It’s just a matter of asserting yourself and practicing. There is no magic “make me an artist” tool in any app.

Well there is, but it doesnt make you an artist. :wink:

You could also make your drawings by hand, scan them into the computer, and clean them up there. Works quite well.

That’s what I do.

Here’s another drawing.
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/view_photo.php?full=1&set_albumName=Traditional-art&id=C2
I did some simple styled shading too.

I don’t have interest in a graphics tablet and I don’t scan drawings but I think I could get the hang of it.

Two cartoons I’m interested in drawing is Blender characters fighting like in super smash brothers and Wu-man with real piano keys for teeth.

“Don’t?” Might I ask why not?

Okay, um, why?

Because drawing and scanning is your second best bet if you don’t have a graphics tablet (unless you’re willing to become a “computer mouse ace”, that is).