Anyone here who can use OSL?

Hey everyone,

I need a really specific OSL Texture for the Procedural Planet I am making in Octane, but I didn´t find good resources to learn OSL on my own.

Do you have a tips where and how to start learning OSL because it seems there are not a lot of comprehensive and easy to understand videos or articles out there. Or maybe its just cause I am not good at coding. Anyways I would love to have good introduction to OSL somewhere.
Or maybe someone is so Corona-Quarantine-bored he/she wants to quickly type it out for me?

1 Like

Michel Anders has a variety of osl textures on his blog:

I can also recommend his book Open Shading Language for Blender.

Sample pages: https://michelanders.nl/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Open-Shading-Language-for-Blender-Michel-Anders-sample.pdf

Book available here:

or on Blendermarket:

If you search github there are a number of repositories for osl shaders.

One of the ones in this collection is a planet surface:

1 Like

Check out Zap Andersson. He’s one of THE OSL gurus. He’s head of Max’s rendering team. This is a 7 video OSL course. It’s for Max, but doesn’t matter.

2 Likes

Is the book “Open Shading Language for Blender” still available? The sample chapter seems not to be around any more, so I fear that if I buy the book I will just get another dead link.

I have been fighting with OSL in Blender the past weeks and get absolutely nowhere. Cycles, CPU render, OSL active, enter simple compiling OSL code, gets black surface out whatever I do. Will the book help me? Do I really need an entire book to get a super simple shader to work?

The link to the sample chapter works for me. The book itself is on blendermarket, which has been one of the main sources for blender addons and resources for many years, I don’t think you have to worry about a dead link there.

You don’t need a book, there are many resources on the internet, but it is a good general introduction if the expense is small for you.