Applied Subsurface Textures and now it just crashes

So last night I applied subsurface textures on some windows on a building I’ve been working on. Specifically I applied a normal image texture, and a metallic image texture. When I tried to open up the file today, the light was selected by default and in Object mode, whenever I try to select the building, it just immediately crashes Blender. Now I’m not sure exactly if it’s the subsurface textures, but from what I’ve seen, some people have had issues with subsurface texturing, but not the exact same issue. My main question is whether there is any way I can get this fixed without abandoning 10 hours of work. If I could just get into edit mode and remove the subsurface textures that would be enough for me. If there’s anymore info i can provide that would help, just let me know, I’m very new to all this.

Sounds weird. You can change the Outliner to display the structure of the Blend file and delete the offending material there. Or you could create a new file and try appending all your old objects one at a time.

Thanks so much! Going into Outliner and deleting the subsurface image files worked great.

1 Like

Long time ago, once have I had an apparently ok image file that would crash Blender. Eventually I figured out what texture it was and resaved the image and everything was ok.