Archviz: Exterior Lighting and Shadows

I’m new to blender…I’ve been hacking at it for about a month now while “drooling” over some really cool archviz renders in here.

Below is an image rendered using Blender evee. The model was imported from ArchiCAD FBX. For lighting in Blender, I have used settings shown in “Saqib Hussain’s”… (one of the best) online video tutorials on lighting and rendering.

My results are dreary. Not sure what I keep doing wrong.

Please help with pointers on lighting and shadows.

Thanks in advance!
Evee Archviz Test|690x388

Hi Gaitara, if you share project files, peoples can help you and ı can see shadow but:

• Maybe Shadow Resolution very low.
  • Your model very small or very big.
  • And where is AO.
  • Check your shaders in cycles for look specular rougness and normals.
  • I can’t see inside the building,
  • Use real grass for last step.
    you need check this steps first. good luck with the blender. thx

Hi 3D_Kit,
Thanks for your reply.
Here is the blender file.
These are the shadow and AO settings used

My model appears to have the right scale

Yes, very interesting. İ am going to go home now. Maybe i can check your project on night

Cool :slightly_smiling_face:!
Thanks.

ive requested acces to your scene, i could help you make something like this

its a concept ive made in like 5 hours from scratch to animation finish. so its lacking in details.
Also what version of blender are you using?

hmm i need acces for drive. :upside_down_face:

Access granted. Sorry about that.

Access granted. Sorry about that.
Wow…all done in about five hours…that’ :hushed:s amazing!
I’m using Blender 2.82.
Thanks in advance for the help.

Ok this is your render:

This is my render:

And this Cycles:

List of problems
Big:

• UV problems. I used Texture Cordinate - Object
  • Shader problems. Why wood metarial have 1.0 metalic ?" or "speculars is 0 rougness 1.0
  • Oh some models need (Merge By Distance) because you can’t use (Smooth Shade)